Cultural Calendar

Welcome to ‘Burgh Vivant’s Cultural Calendar – your source for what’s happening in the Pittsburgh region’s vibrant cultural landscape.  Scan, search, find info, and even get tickets for upcoming offerings.

 


Like the Shapes of Clouds on Water

Presented by August Wilson African American Cultural Center at August Wilson African American Cultural Center, Pittsburgh

September 18 - December 13

Dominic Chambers is a New Haven-based artist from St.Louis, MO. Chambers received his BFA from the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design and an MFA from the Yale University School of Art in 2019. Chambers creates large scale paintings and drawings that reference literary narratives cited in books, various mythologies, and African-American history. Specifically, working through color field paintings, his current work is invested in exploring moments of contemplation and meditation through...

[more+]

Dominic Chambers is a New Haven-based artist from St.Louis, MO. Chambers received his BFA from the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design and an MFA from the Yale University School of Art in 2019. Chambers creates large scale paintings and drawings that reference literary narratives cited in books, various mythologies, and African-American history. Specifically, working through color field paintings, his current work is invested in exploring moments of contemplation and meditation through reading and leisure. His work is founded upon the relationship between reality and fantasy. At this illusory boundary, Chambers negotiates ideas of magical realism by presenting Black figures as they delve into literature and contemplation within imagined landscapes. These subtle, leisurely moments not only celebrate each subject’s visionary power but further negate pervasive and toxic clichés, instead focusing on Black talent, creativity and mysticism. Chambers has exhibited his work in exhibitions in the United States and Europe. He has participated in a number of residencies, including The Yale Norfolk summer residency and the New York Studio residency Program in Brooklyn, NY.

[less-]

Dates & times

Thu, Oct 22 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Oct 23 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Oct 24 @ 3:00 pm + 29 more dates and times

Sun, Oct 25 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Oct 29 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Oct 30 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Oct 31 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Nov 01 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Nov 05 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Nov 06 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Nov 07 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Nov 08 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Nov 12 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Nov 13 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Nov 14 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Nov 15 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Nov 19 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Nov 20 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Nov 21 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Nov 22 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Nov 26 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Nov 27 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Nov 28 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Nov 29 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Dec 03 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Dec 04 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Dec 05 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Dec 06 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Dec 10 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Dec 11 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Dec 12 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Dec 13 @ 3:00 pm - Less dates

Admission

Free Admission

 

‘Burgh Vivant’s Cultural Calendar is powered by Artsburgh, a project of
The Greater Pittsburgh Arts Council.