Cultural Calendar

Welcome to ‘Burgh Vivant’s Cultural Calendar – your source for what’s happening in the Pittsburgh region’s vibrant cultural landscape.  Scan, search, find info, and even get tickets for upcoming offerings.

 


Rocky Mountain Express

Presented by Carnegie Science Center at Carnegie Science Center, Pittsburgh

October 04 - January 01

Extending from the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean, the transcontinental railway in Canada, built by the Canadian Pacific Railway, is known as one of the greatest engineering feats in history. The last spike for the railway was driven in 1885.

This movie draws viewers into a shared kinetic journey that elucidates that history and showcases a remarkable part of our planet, says Stephen Low, director of Rocky Mountain Express. It is a truly immersive “being there” experience for the 70’...

[more+]

Extending from the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean, the transcontinental railway in Canada, built by the Canadian Pacific Railway, is known as one of the greatest engineering feats in history. The last spike for the railway was driven in 1885.

This movie draws viewers into a shared kinetic journey that elucidates that history and showcases a remarkable part of our planet, says Stephen Low, director of Rocky Mountain Express. It is a truly immersive “being there” experience for the 70’ screen in The Rangos Giant Cinema.

Aerial cinematography, photos, maps, and the rhythm of a steam locomotive all unfold in The Rangos Giant Cinema with crystal-clear, 4K digital images and 45 surround-sound speakers that will immerse you in the fidelity of steam engine 2816. The movie is 40-minutes long.

[less-]

Dates & times

Wed, Dec 01 @ 11:00 am Thu, Dec 02 @ 11:00 am Fri, Dec 03 @ 11:00 am + 25 more dates and times

Sat, Dec 04 @ 11:00 am Sun, Dec 05 @ 11:00 am Mon, Dec 06 @ 11:00 am Wed, Dec 08 @ 11:00 am Thu, Dec 09 @ 11:00 am Fri, Dec 10 @ 11:00 am Sat, Dec 11 @ 11:00 am Sun, Dec 12 @ 11:00 am Mon, Dec 13 @ 11:00 am Wed, Dec 15 @ 11:00 am Thu, Dec 16 @ 11:00 am Fri, Dec 17 @ 11:00 am Sat, Dec 18 @ 11:00 am Sun, Dec 19 @ 11:00 am Mon, Dec 20 @ 11:00 am Wed, Dec 22 @ 11:00 am Thu, Dec 23 @ 11:00 am Fri, Dec 24 @ 11:00 am Sat, Dec 25 @ 11:00 am Sun, Dec 26 @ 11:00 am Mon, Dec 27 @ 11:00 am Wed, Dec 29 @ 11:00 am Thu, Dec 30 @ 11:00 am Fri, Dec 31 @ 11:00 am Sat, Jan 01 @ 11:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Tickets are available in advance online or at the door. Member Price: $6 Non-Member Price: $7

412.237.3400

mckenziem@carnegiesciencecenter.org

Ticket Website

 

‘Burgh Vivant’s Cultural Calendar is powered by Artsburgh, a project of
The Greater Pittsburgh Arts Council.